beer / complete randomness / holidays / life

The Thanks We Give

T-minus two hours to turkey.  Or appetizers.  Or picking up my grandma.  I’m not totally sure.  I know something happens at two and that food will be involved.  Maybe not immediately, but I’m told I will be fed today.  So, that’s nice. 

But, in the meantime, I’ve decided to kill some time down here on the family computer in my parents’ basement while I throw back a Diet Coke (the real thing, not that store-brand stuff I have to buy because I’m in grad school) and do a little writing.  I’ve been playing with the idea of taking stock of the year and writing about what I’m thankful for, but that seems so trite.  Even though Thanksgiving is more or less about being kind of trite and taking stock and telling people about the good things in your life and why you’re happy you have them.  And, honestly, I’m pretty much about to do that.  Only I’d like to flip the script a bit. 

So, here goes:

First and foremost, I’m thankful for the bad things that happened this year.  While I’m not going to get into it, and I probably could have done without some of the headaches, because the crap flew I’m a better, happier, more fun person. 

And now, for a more traditional list.

1.  I’m thankful that my dad is (as far as I know)  indulging my request for a “mashed potatoes for all (who want them)” Thanksgiving.  This year, I will not go potato-less.  Or, at least, I have a basis for my complaints when my brother takes the whole dish and dumps a ton of Country Crock in it, thinking he’s the only person those mashed potatoes were for.

2.  I’m glad for my friends, because they’re pretty cool people who continue to amuse,  surprise, and participate in friendship adventures with me.

3.  I’m thankful that in trying out new hobbies, I haven’t seriously maimed or injured myself or others.

4.  I’m thankful for all the usual stuff everyone who writes one of these things is thankful for like family, health, indoor plumbing, and TiVo.

5.  I’m also giving thanks for that new Kraft Homestyle Mac and Cheese.  And fried Mac and Cheese.  And any other basically life-changing iteration of macaroni and cheese I’ve eaten in the past few months. 

6.  And I have boundless thanks for all the pop culture whatnots, from high to low culture, that keep me happy, entertained, and engaged.

7.  Craft beers and good friends to drink with also merit my thankfulness.

8.  While I have to delay wine time while I play chauffeur to all the senior citizens I’ll be Thanksgiving-ing with on my own because my brother is attending the evening’s Jets game, I’m thankful that the game is outdoors and not in one of those fancy, roofed, cozy stadia.  I’ll be doubly thankful if he runs afoul of Giants Stadium security attempting to find covered seating.

9.  Oh, and clearly I’m thankful for the listicle. 

But since it’s almost time to eat/be useful/hide out with a book and some side dishes, I think I’ll join my brother in front of the tv.  I hope you have a Happy Thanksgiving.  And remember, as soon as that turkey’s digested, people are going to start going bananas over Christmas.  So, eat slow.

Talk About It!

