complete randomness / life

Fear this?

As I mentioned in a few previous posts, it appears that August has snuck up on me.  And this August, there’s a shitload of change around these parts.  Like I even started sometimes wearing my hair wavy.  Shifts of seismic proportions are occurring.  But before I get to the juicy changey bits, let me digress.

WAY back in June, I had dinner with two friends who are older than me, and we got on the topic of people who are 27-28 years old or, as I liked to call it, my age.

Friend #1 was talking about some 28 year-old who wasn’t me (I swear) and how that party had been acting a little nutty.  Then, Friend #2 brought up another 28 year-old (Again, not me. I would totally own up to it if it was.) who was going off the deep end.  Friend #1 cited this as evidence of her husband’s theory that people around 27-28 tend to go a little crazy.  At this point in the conversation, I had to pipe up and agree that this was, in fact, true.  As the 28 year-old at the table, and thus the resident expert on the topic, I had to agree that I was barely holding my shit together.

But that was 2 1/2 months ago.  And while holding my shit together is still a challenge some days, as I stare down the barrel of 29  (two LONG weeks, kids, so start shopping now), I can say that the insanity of my age has died down only to be replaced by fears resulting from parts of my life changing in good ways.

Of course, the first thing that’s really got me freaked out is the start of a new school year.  And this year, I’ll be starting on completely different footing teaching my first literature class.  I’m still afraid they’ll throw things on the first day, but at least I have a fighting chance of not having to explain the meaning of the life when I assign The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn.  Part of me is super jazzed and the rest of me knows I won’t get a good night’s rest on Monday and Wednesday nights until some point in October when my body simply gives out and doesn’t allow nerves to stand in the way of me falling asleep at night.

Also on the horizon this fall – and far more daunting – are the writing jobs that I have lined up.  I’m still blogging for PopMatters (so make sure you check that out) but there are also other things coming down the pipe that I can’t talk about yet.  I will have more details soon, but it’s bigger and better and a good things.  So, of course, I’m terrified.  I’d really not prefer to screw all this up.  And short of breaking all my fingers and forgetting how to spell, I won’t.  But it’s still out there.

Also, did I mention I’m turning 29?  SHIT.

Talk About It!

