complete randomness / life / television

The hiatus, it is finished

So, it seems as though it’s been forever since I’ve written anything here.  And technically it has been, since I’ve moved the site and stayed away from blogging since the middle of April.  I could blame it all on Tax Day, but that would be wrong (though the answer to the question, “Am I awesome at taxes or terrible at taxes?” turned out to be “awesome”).  And it would be a lie.  So, I guess I’ll just say that in mid-April it came to my attention that I had been tired since February and didn’t know it until it hit me.  Which it did.  Hard.  But, I’m back now, and I’ll attempt to give a short accounting of where I’ve been, what I’ve been up to, and what I thought about it.  And I’m going to do it all in list form, because life is more fun as a list.

1. I took up Glassblowing.  It has been informative on a number of levels.
2. I released both my inner senior citizen and my inner party animal.  This has been more physically demanding than I anticipated.  And my inner senior citizen wants me to get off her damn lawn.
3. Speaking of physically demanding activities, I also upped my running mileage.  I am hoping to run something longer-distance by the time my birthday rolls around.
4. In doing #3 and thoughtlessly wearing flip flops to a chili cook-off and Ben Folds concert, I busted my left foot.  This has not stopped the progress of #3, as my foot is still attached to my body and insoles take away some of the pressure.  Also, I’m stubborn.  And vain.
5. #4 was super interesting as I live alone and drive a manual transmission.  That adventure is one I wouldn’t like to repeat, but is fun to talk about.  Next time I will probably call for help.
6. While #1-5 was going on, the television season ended, and it was mostly good.  I am, however, seven kinds of pissed at NBC for making Parks and Recreation a mid-season replacement.   Also, I heard that 30 Rock is going to be on at 8:30.  That feels like a mistake.  I am positive I will write more about this when I can organize my thoughts.
7. Glee is still going on.  Evidently, it will be going on for at least another two years, so hopefully we can answer all the questions we’ve raised this season by then.  I am also already envisioning a scenario in which both Mr. Schuester and Sue Sylvester go to college with the gang.  After all, if you take away the musical numbers, we’re only about three steps removed from Saved by the Bell.  And only two steps away from the “Hot Sundae” and “Zack Attack” episodes.
7. I can’t decide if this season of The Real Housewives of New Jersey is tragedy, farce, or simply exploitative.  While I can’t pull myself away, categorizing it seems to be very important to me.   At least, that’s how I’m interpreting my mutterings of “what is this?” during the commercial breaks.
8. I finally realized that Season 2 of Party Down is streaming on Netflix immediately after it airs.  This has made my Fridays a little brighter.
9. The next season of Bones will take place a year in the future.  This bothers me because it violates my personal understanding of the time/space continuum.  If your show is going to pick up in the future, it should be the jumpsuit future.  I don’t want to know about 2012 yet.  I mean, we might not even be here then.
10. I got a Topsy-Turvy tomato planter.  I am way more interested it in than I should be.

I think that’s all for now.  I’ll be back soon with real thoughts about real things.  Maybe something about Bret Michaels, but only if I’m feeling whimsical.

One thought on “The hiatus, it is finished

  1. Pingback: A snowy day in the hive « Cardigan Enthusiast

Talk About It!

